Tags

, ,

I’ve had lots of defining moments in my life. Moments that have meant so much to me. A lot of them have left such indelible marks, great memories and formed particles that made me who I am. Getting the hard earned admissions into the university, graduating against all odds, walking the aisle with Jo and becoming a Father are such defining moments in my life.

The most defining part is becoming a Father to Ayomide. It’s been a journey filled with so many lessons, pains, fun, photoshoots and love. I grew up in a home where a lot was sacrificed for me. And I, oftentimes, took it for granted. Only now do I know what it meant that it came from deep love that can’t be quantified. Only now.

My mother will give her vital organs for me to have an extra smile. My sister will spend days running into weeks on the mountain, fasting and praying if that’s all it takes. My brothers will use their body to stop a bullet train just so I could walk on the tracks and now that I know better, I’ll do the same and more for Ayomide.

It’s crazy how it feels so easy and the best thing to do when I make sacrifices for her. It comes way too easy. And I realized it was what I grew up in – a deep sense of loving truly and unconditionally.

Today marks Ayomide’s fourth year on Earth, many more to go if it’s God’s wish, but as I looked back at the journey so far, I’m filled with gratitude that the universe chose me to be her father. She’s not the easiest daughter to raise. Few health challenges here and there, her stubbornness, over playfulness and non ending talks all from her father’s gene and always wanting to get a response to everything and anything she asks in an instant (emotional blackmail) from her mother’s gene. It’s been fun, it’s been tasking. I wouldn’t have one and throw one away. I want it all and I want it for the rest of my life.

Happy 4th birthday Ayomide Ifeoluwa. Your irons will always bend whenever you beat them. You will be greater than your illness and live long to achieve all your dreams, and if having a child is one of them, may I grow older to be an awesome great grandfather with you. You will be greater than me. Success will come to you easilysy and when you beat it, it will sound louder for the whole world to hear.

I have nothing more to give her now than this love that I feel so deeply in me and that’s everything you will ever need.

To my friends and family, if I’ve ever been kind to you, do not pay me back, pay it to my daughter either in cash or kind. I’m middle aged now, I can figure out my own issues but she needs all the love, prayers, support and money she can get.

Mi amor

Happy birthday, love of my life, we’ve come a long way, we are still here and will always be till life ends. Love you šŸ˜˜