Dear Family & Friends.

Today I am 36.

It’s been an amazing journey of life. Amazing, to use the simplest term. I’ve lived my life on my OWN terms. Made friends, created enemies, built bridges, demolished walls that separate tribes & class, created family not related by blood yet fiercely loyal to the creed.

Looking deeper beyond this mask, I am not a perfect person. Far from it. My short fuse gets blown time and again, but I always try to be a better human. Sometimes I do awesome things to & for people, other times I’m a disappointment to them. I am, of course, human.

I’ve raised moral standards, sometimes too high I even fail at it. I try to be modest & humble, yet there are times the pride I tried to bury years ago still shows its ugly head. I am human, but better than the average. I make lots of selfish decisions and when least expected I’ve done a lot of selfless acts. I’ve placed my life and integrity on the line for even complete strangers, yet, denied friends some help I could have rendered.

I am human, but with a distinction from the regular joe. I am kind, loving, friendly, loyal, yet oftentimes a pain in the ass of people who truly love me. I’ve learnt to say thank you but I’m still learning to say Sorry. I am human, but striving to be different. I’m working on being a model species for others to follow.

I am decent yet with obvious flaws. I can be better, I’m working on it.

So if, during this short period of my life, I’ve impacted your life, please feel free to say a word or two. I’ll share a few of them. If I’ve wronged you, please speak up so I don’t go on hurting the next person. I want to be better. I cannot see all my flaws even when they stare me in the eye. Please point them out, I’m a big boy, I can take a few harsh words. I’ll be here waiting to hear from you

Love always,

Ayodeji Lancaster